Thursday, March 27, 2014

Right of Passage by Lauren N. Sharman

The women in Jay McCassey’s life joke that he was born with an ‘S’ on his chest. Strong and always in control, he guards those he loves with unshakable strength.

A shy, quiet farm girl, Sadie lost her heart to Jay when she was ten years old. Without the confidence to express her feelings, she resigns herself to loving the wildly popular member of the notorious McCassey family from afar.

Although one night’s events link them together forever, it isn’t until Sadie’s desperate and alone—and in trouble—that she gathers enough courage to go to Jay with the truth…a truth he initially refuses to accept.

Jay’s prepared to protect Sadie any way he can, but she knows he’s in danger, too. When her attempt to save him before he can save her backfires, the risk he takes to rescue her could end their story before it has a chance to begin.

As I sit here thinking about all of the fantastic words that describe this particular book, I am left with a gaping hole in my heart. Right of Passage is the final book in the McCassey series. I have invested many an hour reading and rereading the personal stories of these charismatic men and the exceptional ladies who stole their hearts. I have never felt such a strong connection to a series as I do the McCassey's. I believe my favorite of them all would have to be Right of Passage, which is Jay's story.

Jay has always been the little kid who had to grow up fast. Now in his 20's and extremely drool worthy, it's time for Jay to have a leading lady of his own. Enter Sadie, the shy girl who has been in love with Jay from the time she was ten years old. From the moment they meet in this story, they develop a strong and moving bond. With miscommunications and half truths scattered throughout the story, it's time for Sadie to tell the truth, the whole truth, in order for Jay to be able to help protect her.

As with all of the McCassey books, Jay and Sadie's story is explosive, literally, and kept me sitting on the edge of my seat. Ms. Sharman pays excellent attention to detail and weaves realistic, believable characters with intense drama. Right of Passage delves heavily into adventurous family relationships which is what made this entire series work so well. Imperfect characters who feel horror, helplessness and anger are what bring so much edge to Right of Passage. I have to hand it to Ms. Sharman for yet another job well done. I still can't believe I will no longer be able to read about future McCasseys.

Here are a list of the McCassey books in order. Click on the name of the book to be redirected to the buy link:

Book 1. No Worries
Book 2. Devils Candy
Book 3. Dusty Rose
Book 4. The Long Road Home
Books 1-3 in a trilogy book:

The McCassey Cousins Series:

Book 1: When Night Falls
Book 2: Betrayed
Book 3: Starr Dust
Book 4: Right of Passage